Explained: Six levels of Automotive Automation

Official guide to what the levels of automation are

mercedes-benz self-driving truck

What exactly are the six levels of automotive automation? That’s a question when’ve been asked in the past.

To be honest, it’s also something we need to research from time to time when covering stories like the UD Trucks automated truck demonstration that we covered yesterday.

A bit like a couple of other futuristic/change related topics that relate to the truck and bus industry, namely electric vehicles and Euro Emission Standards, often we hear or report on the terms/stages/levels, but maybe not everyone knows what they are.

So, to help us all keep updated and informed on the introduction of automotive automation, SAE (the Society of Automotive Engineers, have provided us with this table that covers what the five levels signify:

six levels of driving automation

The six levels of automation are divided into two categories, designating technologies that do require human supervision and those that don’t – these are represented in the blue and green colours.

About Joel Helmes 1836 Articles
Joel is the founder and CEO of Heavy Vehicles. With more than 20 years experience in the media, including more than 10 years heading up the car publication - Behind the Wheel, Joel is passionate about bringing a fresh perspective to the Australian road transport industry. Prior to his media career Joel worked for a number of years as a bus, truck and delivery driver.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.